AFRL Materials and Manufacturing Directorate holds annual awards ceremony

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio (AFRL) – The Air Force Research Laboratory Materials and Manufacturing Directorate held their 69th annual awards ceremony virtually for award recipients and audience members Jan. 20, 2022. Dr. Jonathan Spowart, Master of Ceremonies, and Dr. Keith Slinker, Co-Master of Ceremonies, led the ceremony, announcing and celebrating the accomplishments of the directorate in 2021.

The awards and recipients are:

  • Mission Support Award (Individual): Doug Fulton
  • Mission Support Award (Team): RXF Financial Management Team – Phyllis Anderson, Robert Ashmore, Rose Bennett, Stacy Cornett, Kelly Cox, Melanie Craig, Stephen Dillon, Kelly Dougan, Michelle Duffy, James Graham, Hillary Howell, Heather Lahrmann, Owen McComas, Beth Scarff, Cassie Spreher, Brianna Walters, and Rebecca Workman
  • Supervisor Excellence Award: James Graham
  • International Award: Dr. Craig Przybyla
  • Program Management Award: DESSM JCTD Team – Max Alexander, Diane Buhrmaster, Anthony Cain, Brittany Campbell, Matthew Hartshorne, Jared Petry, Kevin Tienda, and Jonathan Vernon
  • Engineering Expertise Award: Brett Jordan
  • Military Award – Company Grade Officer: Capt Kenneth Eherenberg
  • Military Award – Field Grade Officer: Maj Megan Leppert
  • Military Award – Field Grade Officer (Individual Mobilization Augmentee): Maj Joseph Beck
  • Dr. Katie E. G. Thorp Inspiration Award: Dr. Chia-Suei Hung
  • Vincent J. Russo Award for Leadership Excellence: Dr. Jonathan Vernon
  • ​There was a tie this year between two nominees for the R. Lee Kennard S&T Manufacturing Heritage Award. R. Lee Kennard S&T Manufacturing Heritage Award: Nihad Alfaysale & FHE Microcontroller Team – Matthew Dalton and Dr. Abigail Juhl
  • Director’s Award (Junior Individual): John McClure
  • Director’s Award (Senior Individual): Adrienne Schaab
  • Director’s Award (Team): Hypersonics Team – Dr. Zlatomir Apostolov, Dr. Mark Benedict, Dr. Carmen Carney, Dr. Matthew Dickerson, Dr. Mark Flores, Dr. Randall Hay, Dr. George Jefferson, Dr. Paul Jero, Dr. Allan Katz, Dr. Gerard Simon, Dr. Karla Strong, Sarah Wallentine, Dr. Donald Weaver, Ian Woolford
  • Robert T. Schwartz Engineering Achievement Award: Dr. Nicholas Glavin
  • Charles J. Cleary Scientific Achievement Award: Dr. Michael Page

Dr. Charles Ward, Acting Director of the Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, concluded the ceremony by congratulating all the awards nominees, recipients, and awards panel for their hard work and dedication to the Materials and Manufacturing Directorate.